Return Marriage License for Recording

STEP THREE: Record Your Marriage License


Once you have properly applied for and completed your marriage license and certificate upon getting married, you must return the completed marriage license and certificate for recording within 63 days of the marriage. Failure to return your marriage license for recording within 63 days of marriage will result in a $20 fee under Colorado law.

By recording your marriage license, you are providing legal evidence of the marriage to the County and State of Colorado.

You may deliver the certificate to any of our branch locations (open Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. - 4 p.m.) listed below, or you can mail it back to our Recording Division at 5334 S. Prince St., Littleton, CO, 80120. Branch locations:
  • Aurora, 490 S Chambers Rd, Aurora, CO 80017
  • Byers, 538 US-36, Byers, CO 80103
  • Centennial, 6954 S Lima St, Centennial, CO 80112
  • Littleton, 5334 S Prince St, Littleton, CO 80120
If mailed, we will record the document and return it to you by mail within three (3) weeks. If delivered, we will record the document in front of you and return it to you at that time. There is no additional cost to record the license.

Next, you can follow these steps to Order Copies of Your Marriage License and File a Name Change After Marriage.

For more information, please contact our Recording Division at 303-795-4520, Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. - 4 p.m.